Any Suggestions?

I am thinking of buying a digital camera and the features I want in it are:

  1. Sleek, should fit into my pocket.
  2. In-built battery, I hate AA batteries – rechargeable or not, they get exhausted too fast. It should be like a mobile phone, just plug it in and charge and it should have power to last through the day.
  3. 3x optical zoom is enough for me. 5 MP is also enough.
  4. Video with sound.
  5. ~12K. With the 256/512 Mb memory card, I think this would come around 15K.

I know of only Sony Cybershot DSC T5, that fulfills 4 of the 5 criteria, but it is priced at 18K with a puny 16 Mb memory.

Any other digital cameras that fulfills all these 5 requirements?

11 Responses to “Any Suggestions?”


  1. 1 Rakesh August 10, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    Forget a DigCam .. buy a Nokia N Series…

    The minimal N-73 will solve ur purpose.
    1. It is sleek.
    2. donno what these things really mean .. but it has 3.2 MP camera inbuilt with 20x digital zoom.
    3. Video with sound.
    4. slightly more than 20k (now thats something more) .. but see the extras.
    5. Video with sound
    6. Extra features .. Digital Music Player + Stereo FM..
    7. Some usual call features.

  2. 2 skp August 10, 2006 at 4:43 pm

    Rocky Rocks !! Thats True Dood !!
    According a secret poll I have found out that 80% images u will ever shoot in ur life will not need a optical zoom aka the target will be right in front of U (50 feet at most ) A good Cell fone will do the job 😀
    If I had 15K I wud have bought a Nokia 6270 !!

    Neways just to make the comment crappier chk this ::
    http://digitalcameras.engadget.com/2006/08/08/kodaks-new-easyshares-the-v705-c743-and-c433/

    adios 😀

  3. 3 paresh August 10, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    @Rocky,
    An optical zoom is always preferable to a digital zoom as thats a “physical” or “real” zoom instead of digital ones which is basically “interpolation” and is “virtual”

    @skp,
    true! a phone would solve most problems. a phone is always with a person rather than cameras, which a person need not carry with him/her all the time. Even the argument of 80% is OK.

    HOWEVER
    imagine going to a scenic place. There is no camera phone (atleast in the price range of

  4. 4 paresh August 10, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    :((

    WP sucks!

    i wrote a long comment … why is it showing so less !

    :((
    i am not going to complete it.

  5. 5 vardhman August 10, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    Take a look at sachin’s Kodak Dual lens camera, Ask him how he bargained it for that price, and if you can get it in that price, its a steal. Just do it!
    🙂

  6. 6 Kunal August 11, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    Paresh, thanks for replying to rocky & skp, but please please mail me the long comment you wrote…
    Or at least send me the gist, just give me the model numbers.

    Vardhman, yeah that is one of the cameras I have my eyes on 🙂

  7. 7 sriram August 12, 2006 at 9:50 am

    Canon Powershot S series – small,powerful,no AA,rechargable, you can always get a 1gb sd ram card.

    no idea abt the price. you can always get good deals in the net.

  8. 8 rajAT August 12, 2006 at 2:52 pm

    Camera Cellphone rocks dude .
    Digital cameras are so last century 🙂

  9. 9 Kunal August 14, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    Thanks a lot, Sriram 🙂

    Rajat, I agree 😀 But I already have a good cellphone, and in no mood to kill two birds with one stone 🙂

  10. 10 Arvind August 16, 2006 at 10:58 am

    Regarding cam, and camera cellphones, one of the biggest disadvantages with phone cams is the flash. it is generally not good, only now has sony ericsson come up with a cell havin 3Mp cam and neon(not sure wht technology it is) flash(the one present in regular cams), thus night shots generally give a prob with cellphones.
    Have a look at the olympus cam(16K)waterproof(good for waterfall n rainy season), image stabilization(?) etc etc. or try the sony w series(50,70,100, will cost u arnd 15K with memory if u get from US), the digital ixus from canon(slim n cool).
    That T(5,7,9) series u mentioned is also good, as far as you are not expecting many features(available with other cams in which the lens protudes when you open the cam),also the shutter lag is the min with sony(me n ankit kumar were discussing this the other day)

    PS: KAKA is still there, grab him to get u a cam 😀

  11. 11 Kunal August 16, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    Thanks Arvind. The T-series of Sony is better then W-series in terms of cost and functionality..
    I am looking at Olympus too 🙂 Let me finalize something soon …


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,771 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


