Sunday Afternoon Adventure

It was a quiet Sunday. I was lying on the floor watching football since morning; I had just nodded off, when I heard the front door slam. A rowdy crowd materialized out of thin air and they started searching the place. I had an inkling that something was wrong – I knew I was in trouble. I tried to roll behind the sofa but one of them spotted me lying on the floor and made a beeline for me, while beckoning the others.

Before I could even say ‘English Premier League’, I had been manhandled across the street onto the ground that kids used. Three seconds later I found myself tasting the earth. I tried to get up, but the guy who had spotted me was holding me down with his feet. They had a whispered conversation and soon surrounded me. Their menacing glances pierced me. They resembled dogs on leashes when a piece of meat was lying in front of them. Their leashes unleashed and all of them leapt towards me.

I started counting, one, two, three… thirty-seven, thirty-eight… one-hundred-twenty-one, one-hundred-twenty-two… After one-hundred-ninety-six, I lost count; I was busy trying to avoid the kicks – rather then counting them. Rarely did they see where I was being kicked; they kicked for the fun of it. I could see a weird frenzy, an unchecked excitement in their eyes. They were having fun! They were actually enjoying! People sure can get so sadistic.

It started raining; I thanked the good God for sending the rains to save me. I expected a reprieve any second. I was starting to make a checklist of my injuries when reality crashed the dream world yet again. The intensity of the kicks increased, the madness in their eyes multiplied. They were slipping in the slush trying to kick me; nonetheless they were kicking me. Doggedly they kept on. Sometimes I even felt, I was soaring through the air only to hit back the ground harder.

I was thinking what would be scribbled on my epitaph when all of a sudden they stopped. They were panting badly, tongues hanging out. Even in that condition, the image of Pete Sampras playing a Wimbledon match with his tongue hanging out flitted through my mind.

I was trying to get up and go home, when one of them lifted me, again – I resigned to my worse-then-the-worst fate and pumped myself anticipating the kicks. Surprisingly none came; instead I was carried home by my assaulters, and was deposited on the sofa.

Wish I might have been a human being; it is tough being a football.

23 Responses to “Sunday Afternoon Adventure”


  1. 1 Manoj August 3, 2006 at 4:07 pm

    cool post man…
    I would luv you to be a football πŸ˜›

  2. 2 ~Kathryn~ August 3, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    ohhh – so not what i expected – LOVE IT !!

  3. 3 mythalez August 3, 2006 at 7:49 pm

    lol .. and i thought u were receiving bumps !!

  4. 4 Sreejith August 3, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    did u ever reach ur goal? πŸ˜‰

  5. 5 Kay August 3, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    Nice take on this. I liked it.

  6. 6 rajAT August 3, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    I heard DVD got the same treatment ..
    And poor chap missed the train next day ..

  7. 7 Roadchick August 4, 2006 at 12:37 am

    Hee! It took a minute to understand what was happening…great idea!

  8. 8 Jess August 4, 2006 at 5:45 am

    I read this last night and I thought it was so so so clever!! πŸ™‚

    I never expected the ending πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Kay August 4, 2006 at 7:31 am

    This is a great piece of writing! Loved it!

    Kay

  10. 10 Kunal August 4, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    @all, thanks for the appreciation πŸ™‚

  11. 11 Sreejith August 4, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    too may to write comments towards each individual? πŸ™‚

  12. 13 Jessie August 4, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    ahhh! ok–you totally got me there! And I don’t even usually like surprise endings but you had me so absorbed in your pain and misfortune of getting beat up that I totally fell for it!

    Great writing.

  13. 14 Kerstin August 5, 2006 at 6:41 am

    And here I always thought a football loved being the center of attention, knocks and kicks and all! Cool take on the subject.

  14. 15 boliyou August 5, 2006 at 7:38 am

    Great twist on the ending! I was wondering how this would turn out all the way through.

  15. 16 briliantdonkey August 5, 2006 at 11:54 am

    Wow,

    Very nice job on this week’s prompt. Even with the initial hint at football I didn’t see that one coming. Excellent use of descriptions and deception at the same time.

    Thanks for the story

    Briliantdonkey

  16. 17 Paris Parfait August 5, 2006 at 11:16 pm

    Well that’s an unexpected twist on the prompt! Very nice!

  17. 18 Cheap Tart August 6, 2006 at 7:16 am

    Wow! You really had me going … therapy would have been involved if not for the twist at the end. Bravo!

    Smooch,
    The Tart
    ; )

  18. 19 Gemma August 6, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Watch out…it’s almost Football season.:-)

  19. 21 Rohini August 8, 2006 at 11:37 am

    Nice post. Didn’t see the twist coming. πŸ™‚

  20. 23 Shivendra October 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I read the article again, for the first time I was thinkin it was ur birthday… πŸ™‚

    but 2nd time it was awesome, the way you bluffed the readers πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,771 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


