Next Demand

In continuation with my wants, here is another demand πŸ˜€

Proper categorization. I am not talking about the web. In the web everything has proper categorization, I can specifically choose the category I want. I am talking about categorization on television.

Each program telecast on the television should be categorized under Movie, Sports, News, Music, Soaps, Comdey/Humour etc. And yes, there should be a specific category for Commercials too. I should be able to direct my television to keep the Sports category first, then Movies (with the subcategory English over subcategory Hindi), Music next and so on and the last category should be Commercials. As soon as the Commercials start in the cricket match I am seeing, that channel should jump to the last position in the viewing hierarchy and should come back to the first as soon as the match starts. There should be separate buttons on the remote for each category. Like when I click the ‘Movie’ button, I should be able to scan through all the movies that are going on currently. And apart from the channel scrolling, I should be able to directly scroll across categories. These categories should be standardized across all television sets and all telecasting channels.

(The idea to have Commercials as a tag and moving it to the end of hierarchy may not be plausible, since that is the major – or is it only? – source of revenue)

I think this is possible; is any television company doing this?

6 Responses to “Next Demand”


  1. 1 N.S. July 24, 2006 at 5:51 pm

    TiVo/DVR is as close as it gets, I suppose πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Sreejith July 24, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    Now thats a great idea! u have vision yaar. This will be the face of television after say 10 years. but then… will there be a television then?

  3. 4 paresh July 25, 2006 at 9:03 am

    was this post intended for t@run. i hop you know he is upto something on the lines of your thoughts….

  4. 5 Kunal July 25, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    N.S., TiVo just stores the program for future viewing. I am talking about categorization…

    Sreejith, I think television would not be extinct in 10 years… Our preceding generation is too dependent on TV πŸ˜€

    sukesh, eggjactly!

    Paresh, I know what Tarun is upto, this is totally different. I am talking about categorization at the telecasting end itself. The end user needs to do nothing but just flip through categories.

  5. 6 N.S. July 25, 2006 at 5:49 pm

    Actually…though it doesn’t fulfill your entire demand…TiVo also has a “search engine to find and automatically record the shows that match your interests (by title, actor, director, category, even keyword)” πŸ™‚ Comes close!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,072 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


