A conversation with myself

I: You expect too much!
Me: After all it is natural to expect.
I: But it hurts when expectations do not get fulfilled!
Me: And you feel the most satisfied when your expectations do get completed.
I: Majority of the time expectations are just that – expectations!
Me: The law of averages has to catch on.
I: Bah! You are talking nonsense… You are expecting your expectations to be fulfilled. You are personifying recursion!
Me: What is wrong in hoping? Everyone has expectations.
I: Is everyone happy?
Me: No, but what does happiness has to do with expectations. Being happy is a state of mind.
I: Ok, tell me one thing… Don’t you feel happy when your expectations are realized?
Me: Yes I do feel happy. But since you have opened the can of worms, let me toss one your way… Do you feel sad when some expectation goes awry?
I: Yes of course… I’ll use your words. After all it is natural to be sad.
Me: Glad we established that. Since you get sad, does it mean you will never be happy?
I: No that does not mean so.
Me: So does it mean that since you get sad, you are afraid to be happy.
I: You are being ridiculous! Stop trying to soak up the ocean using a small sponge. I am not afraid of being happy. In fact like everyone I like to be happy.
Me: Gotcha! Just scroll up and see what you had said earlier – you feel happy when your expectations are realized.
I: Stop trying to whirl me around. I never said I like to expect, I just said I like to be happy.
Me: Oh! You are just being glum. Why are you afraid of expecting, just because you think it would not be realized! You cannot stop being happy because you are afraid of being sad.

The debate is still going on.

To expect or not?

7 Responses to “A conversation with myself”


  1. 1 N.S. July 21, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    Hope is what makes the world go ’round šŸ™‚ Though sometimes we expect for that which is unrealistic & unfulfillable…but you know what they say: aim for the moon, and you’ll land amongst the stars. So we keep going…and hoping…despite the heartache… but is it really worth it? Or are we all just masochist’s?

  2. 2 Rakesh July 24, 2006 at 1:09 pm

    Oye, since when you became a schizophrenic !! Btw, good topic and great post..

    I have always believed in the Gita, the Karmanye-wa-Dhikarste part of it ..

    Go on doing what you like to do, without too much expectation from anything .. Expectations are good.. They are the driving force .. but exepecting that all your Expectations will come true isnt.. Now even I have started playing with the words… but thats the way it is.. šŸ™‚

  3. 3 Kunal July 24, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    N.S., What you are talking about it hope. As per me hope and expectation are two very different things. Hope for me is at a mental/spiritual level; whereas expectation is at a materialistic level šŸ™‚

    Rakesh, me? a schizophrenic? I don’t think so… Let me ask the little girl who keeps me company everywhere I go.. It sure is strange that she does not grow up šŸ˜›
    By the way, I agree with what you say.. It is unrealistic hoping for all expectations to be fulfilled.. But you know, man is greedy by nature šŸ˜€

  4. 4 N.S. July 24, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    I think the real line being drawn in the conversation here is between expectations and happiness. Expectations are, indeed, a hope – one that we wish to be fulfilled. However your two-selves seem to be mainly disagreeing on the fact that the fulfillment of this expectation leads to happiness, and the lack thereof leads to the opposite. As ‘I’ said – it is when expectations and hopes are met when we feel most happy…but expectations are just expectations! Which is where my thought came in to play…that if expectations are just that – expectations – then why keep expecting/hoping?

  5. 5 Sreejith July 24, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    i’ve lost myself in such philosophy too much to untangle myself and give u my perspective šŸ˜¦

  6. 6 Arooj July 30, 2006 at 10:50 pm

    well…
    i fink v must nawt xect NEthin’ outa NE person…
    : )

  7. 7 rastogi September 4, 2006 at 5:51 pm

    Funny, I had the exactly same conversation with myself!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,891 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


