Someone make this software!

Software Developers & entrepreneurs of the world, please listen to the travail of a blogger.

Majority of the bloggers, somewhere in a corner of their hearts, hide a dream of becoming a writer. At least I do! Now I need a proper critic who will review all my articles with a cynic’s eye. I am not saying that the comments are useless; they really are the driving force behind any blog.

The comments I would get after I write anything would be something like ‘good’ or ‘bad’. I have no qualms on getting such comments, but what I would really love is an English professor going through the article I wrote and comments should be akin to ‘The structure of this statement was not good’, ‘could have used a bit more description for the brooding man’, ‘what is a gerund doing here!’ or ‘are you nuts? This adjective is not appropriate here’. I am not talking about the spell-check in Microsoft Word, or their favourite error message – ‘Consider revising’. I need more precise help, a software that would understand English, as a normal person or a critic or an English teacher would do and grade the article based on the quality of the English.

In short, I need a virtual English teacher, which would take English text as input and output the grade/score with comments.

6 Responses to “Someone make this software!”


  1. 1 kopos July 19, 2006 at 10:00 pm

    the question is are you ready to pay for it? 🙂

  2. 2 mythalez July 19, 2006 at 11:02 pm

    maybe a good research project for our dear LTRC ?? 😀

  3. 3 Manoj July 19, 2006 at 11:21 pm

    hahahaha…
    I think you never even stepped inside the LTRC or even see any LTRC project.

    All the efforts are towards doing something similar for years.. :)). but in vain the accuracy sux… its less then 70%

  4. 4 Kunal July 20, 2006 at 10:48 am

    kopos, if it is exactly what I want, I am willing to pay 🙂

    mythalez, seems so.. but as per Manoj it is being done already.. shows I am not the only ignorant person about LTRC projects 😛

    Manoj, hoping that the day comes when it is 100% accurate 😀

  5. 5 Sreejith July 24, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    I would like such a tool. But then i would love a tool which would read my thoughts and then translate them into proper english with perfect grammar and all. In the long term i sometimes wonder if technology will kill humanness. Its better to err and be human than be perfect and not human.

  6. 6 Hitesh Rawat September 8, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    well….i agree….your blogger to writer thingy……..i know many blogger who want to be a writer….but i differ…..i don’t want to be a writer….but would like to excel in blogging…… well, the secret being i can’t write good……but i can blog well enough…… 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,613 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


