I am addicted

I think I was in 8th standard when I learnt “Ati sarvatra varjayeta” – meaning, “Excess of anything should be avoided”. This has been true in my life so many times that I thought I had internalized this mantra and maybe that is why I ignored it.

I am again addicted – to computers and internet. And no I am not talking about the addiction where you need to check mails very very regularly – I passed that stage eons back… I am talking about the addiction where… ummm… ummm… Let me give some examples:

  • My fingers are more intelligent then me. When I need to type a long multi-syllable word even before I start thinking about the spelling, my fingers type the word out. This thing freaks me out quite regularly.
  • I am reading a newspaper/novel and I wish I could do ctrl+f (that is ‘find’). I wish I could have links in the novel/newspaper that would point me to prior articles or related things.
  • I am watching a match/movie on television and I need to find the IMDb rating of the movie or the statistics of the player in action on Cricinfo. I wish that information could be accessed at the click of a button on the remote.

Now my daily chant is again going to be – “Ati sarvatra varjayeta, Ati sarvatra varjayeta!

What is your addiction?

5 Responses to “I am addicted”


  1. 1 abc July 14, 2006 at 9:42 pm

    I seriously miss a Ctrl-F or a “/” [firefox effect] in newspapers.

    One more thing .. while watching TV I seriously want to press the spacebar .. too much of mplayer is taking its toll now.

  2. 2 Sreejith July 15, 2006 at 3:40 am

    everyone’s in the same boat my friend and the damn boat is sinking!! 😦 Remember how we would play Age/quake/CS all night long like zombies and yet hit rails in q3 at 5 in the morning πŸ™‚ now thats was some addiction.

  3. 3 manoj July 16, 2006 at 10:24 am

    While having a formal chat with one of the collegue in US over IM… I accidently pressed ‘y’ that we use in CS :))

    He was left wondering what the hell Iwas asking πŸ˜€

  4. 4 Kunal July 17, 2006 at 11:32 am

    abc, even I wish I could forward the movie I am seeing… mplayer effect..

    sreejith, you know I was better at CS/quake when I was half asleep, because then I did not have time to think, I just took action without thinking πŸ™‚

    manoj, rofl πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Arooj July 30, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    same here man….i dun knw hao tym flies away wen i`m infront ov ma pC…. :$ i`ve no oda thin’ to do…its only me n ma PC :$


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,531 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


