I hate orkut

There is no doubt about it – orkut sucks. Yeah, the lifeline of scores of people, the cool social networking site, the place to make friends and reconnect with people. Yeah I hate it.

A conversation should be private, not visible to everyone in the scrapbook. Yeah, I know you will say that then use the e-mail! Exactly!! If u want to contact someone mail him, IM him, why in the name of Tendulkar (GOD) is a non-private conversation in the scrapbook required?

When the hype about orkut hit my friends & me we all rushed to make accounts and invited people to join the madness. Even after I had an account, I kept getting mails from people requesting me to create an account; the reason – I had not uploaded my photograph in orkut and orkut is biased towards people with photographs (that is the default setting when searching for a person) and thus I did not appear in the searches. So I kept on getting invites, until in frustration I uploaded an image for myself.

I would not delete my orkut account, since I’ll be again swarmed with invites to use orkut… so I am just going to ignore my orkut account from now on. My e-mail id is visible to everyone on my friends’ list, in case you want to contact me – mail me.

I think this would be the sole product of Google that I hate.

55 Responses to “I hate orkut”


  1. 1 Asheesh July 12, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    Come on dude
    where else do u get to see so many
    pretty faces together.. [:D]

  2. 2 Asheesh July 12, 2006 at 7:48 pm

    Come on dude
    where else do u get to see so many
    pretty faces together.. [:D]
    ( I hated it too before it realized that :))

  3. 3 N.S. July 12, 2006 at 8:45 pm

    I feel the same way about Hi-5…or whatever that’s called. I made an account out of frustration to all the invites I was receiving to join, join, join… I don’t even bother to log-on, yet continually receive friend requests. It’s annoying. I like Friendster, though…which is weird because they both are so similar, and I think all my Friendster friend’s are on Hi-5…which goes to show how much time they have on their hands!! I loved that line on Tendulkar…hahah.
    I got more sleep last night, I went to bed at 9:30pm -amazing. πŸ™‚ So now I can actually work at work!! Just thought I’d share that. πŸ˜€

  4. 4 Kunal July 13, 2006 at 4:21 pm

    @Asheesh, nice point πŸ˜€

    @N.S., even I am a part of the hi-5 network, and have visited it altogether once for registering there initially.. after that it has been bye-bye to hi-5 too… and yeah Tendulkar is sure my God πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Rakesh July 13, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    Oye cheating, I was going to write about Orkut.

  6. 6 Kunal July 14, 2006 at 6:13 pm

    to ab likh de rocky πŸ™‚

  7. 7 kopos July 16, 2006 at 12:03 pm

    At the risk of sounding politically incorrect, I wont even dare call Orkut a product; its at best in its alpha (remember the Bab bad donuts that the server never gets?) and definitely the uncustomization i cant do with it. Orkut is far from being anything normal.

    Only reason Im in orkut is because most of my friends are all there. Thats the power of community it already has.

    Aside, you might want to delete the scraps which you feel are private. I do that all the time.

  8. 8 Kunal July 17, 2006 at 10:14 am

    Kopos, I was thinking on lines of deleting the whole orkut account, but then again I would be bombarded with requests to join the community. So, decided against that..
    I would call orkut a product, but as you said, it is at best alpha (is there something before alpha release?) which would never become a beta product – which all other google products are.

  9. 9 Sayak August 25, 2006 at 2:23 pm

    Today itself I decided I’d never log in into my Orkut account again in remaining life. It’s very addictive, and sucks away my whole day. Every now and then I used to type those shitty five words on a browser O—R–K—U—T, to check if someone desirable just scrapped in. Moreover, there’s nothing caled privacy. You have to think twice before getting intimate with people you want to (read GIRLS), without inviting unwanted attention from all sorts of people (some happen to be your irritating friends).

    One thing that really pisses me is the unruly nature of Orkut users. Those having 500-600 FRIENDS (I had only 80 until yesterday, and it was so difficult to manage). All that repeated “Kaisa hai” (“Mar gaya main!!! Leave me alone for God’s sake”). “Kya chal raha hai”? (“Why the fuck should I tell you?”) “What’s latest?” (“Just because you have nothing to do, I work in a prestigious company, I like to stay busy in my job, and be happy with that. I don’t PRETEND to have doing LATEST things every now and then.”)

    Also, there are users who are involved in 100+ communities. Gimme a break, all those social kind, I like to spend time with myself alone when it suits me.

    Trust me guys, ORKUT is a community of all kinds of losers. The more you let them eat your brains, the more you sink beneath. Wake up, and get back to good ol’ emails, and instant messaging. Get Skype, make international calls. Even mobile phones cost just 7.2 to call in US and Europe. Better still, make personal visits. Just ignore this fucking medium.

    BYE BYE Orkut.

  10. 10 Oneirodynic September 1, 2006 at 1:15 am

    Well,orkut is good if you use it well.Other than being a private medium to “scrap” your friends,you can also use it as a discussion forum platform.I have been a regular user since its inception,have got close to 80 friends just in my city,trekked a lot with a lot of orkutians,still attend book club meetings with orkutians and iam even taking a flight across 2000 km to meet an orkutian this weekend.Plenty of inputs in life without getting addictive about it πŸ˜‰

  11. 12 pankaj January 10, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Orkut !! Bloody waste of TIME

  12. 13 Rakesh Babu G R January 20, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I see people saying here that they haven’t deleted their orkut accounts because they don’t want to receive invites to join Orkut. But in every mail from Orkut you get a link ,which if you click on you can actually block all orkut users from sending you mail.

    I just did that and I am resting in peace.

  13. 14 Varun March 10, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    It’s a f***’d up site. Got a gf…so u can understand the reason…and all i check is her scrapbook to keep her informed abt the Aholes around..hehe….ORKUT SUX

  14. 15 dog April 11, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    i love orkutting

  15. 16 xyz April 13, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Orkut is good if you use it well. Delete unwanted scraps. Dont reply to all the scraps…..login to orkut only once a week or maximum once a day…or forget about it for a few months….it does help you reconnect with your old friends and aquaintances whom u lost touch with…and perhaps u wont be lonely in your old age….as u would hae made enuf new friends by then. πŸ™‚

  16. 17 FABIHA KHAN May 22, 2007 at 11:35 am

    i hate orkut….thats y i never made account in it……
    its not pvt..strangers can view our msgs…they can view all stuff abt us…
    pathetic communities….etc…I JST HATE IT

  17. 18 kuhnen June 4, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    yeah,its way too addictive and stupid.
    all my friends nowadays are the whole day logged in on orkut.people cant find anything to do but scrap on orkut…….this site sucks!

  18. 19 who cares June 14, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    orkut is hell i broke off with my gf becoz of orkut man its really sick checking her account everyday u become a chokidhar eventually i just hope it is banned soon in india

  19. 20 Prashant July 5, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Guys, ur commments truly make sense..let me add that Communication thru orkut has no personal touch..most of orkuters are the ones who is not smart enough to know wat they are doing and just killing time in writing useless scraps they wont understand how much ever we tell..its only after realization that people will agree that shitty website like doesnt need this much hype N there are better means of communicating wid frendz

  20. 21 maaya July 5, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    if u use it in correct way…..u would not face any probs…
    depends on pl …..how they use it…
    anyways…i deleted my orkut account…n im not regretting…
    i neither like orkut…nor hate it…

  21. 22 deepak July 12, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    Orkut is full stupid & unintelligent people.

    Most of them are there for doing just “chamadigiri” with girls.

    F**k em all.

    Initially when I signed up for orkut I found that community/group concept very interesting bcoz it provides a way to group peaple with similar interest so they can share their thoughts via message boards.

    but I never knew people in those communities wd be such dumb & stupid who never participate in any discussions actively & intelligently.

    They just join the group for sake of adding group name in their list.

    I don’t know wat do they get by doing it.

    More over few communities are such hopeless, like my name starts with * , paanipuri, vadappav & many more S**t

    I blocked all users from inviting me for orkut & still wondering how people can waste their time on such stupid place.

  22. 23 yama July 15, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    @maya, are you our maya aunty ?

  23. 24 yea yea August 27, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    orkut is so fuked up!!
    actualy someone made me frends fake profile n was even misusing her pic..n then wen we came t5o knows whoise the person n said sory n stuff he even gave da id n pass of the account..n said dat he has dleetd the account 2 days back n the day he deleted it said it will be delited in 24hrs so the second day he tried if its rely deleted but stil it was there so wat he did he deleted the google account itself n den he cudn’t sign ofcourse it won’t work after u dlt tha google account teh wordt thing still we can view that profile n after deletion its almost the 6th or 7th day!!!

    duno wats rong wd it!! bzoz of orkut shes getin into a big big problem!!!

  24. 25 Scared of Orkut August 29, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    I truly believe Orku is a dangerous product. Anybody will know You , your college , your professional carer and so much about you by looking at your profile and communities that it can actually cause an identity theft

    Its a serious threat to privacy and should be banned

    I’m regretting why the hell did I Make my account there

  25. 26 ravneet September 9, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    itz jst time wasting!

  26. 27 ravneet September 9, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    i hate it

  27. 29 FABIHA KHAN September 9, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    i hate orkut.. still i had to cme der 4 my frends coz i wana stay in touch wid them….i cnt keep on sending them sms or emails regulary..so i think here in dis case orkut plays a usefull role…bt seriously no privacy is der…and thats d thing i dont like in it..

  28. 30 sharika choudhary September 14, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    hiiiiii this sharika i hate orkut and i want delete my orkut account……..plz delete my account

  29. 31 sharika choudhary September 14, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    okkk bye m leaving orkut ok

  30. 32 sharika choudhary September 14, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    m missing orkut but i have some problem so m deleting my acount

  31. 33 kalyan ramaram September 23, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    i finally MADE it!

    let peace pervail….lol!!

  32. 34 sarfaraz ahmed September 25, 2007 at 12:02 am

    it depends on how v use it.its good to find old frds but yes there is no privacy.i made my account in orkut bt unfortunatly orkut is banned in UAE now i m not able to access. some time i miss it.

  33. 35 cool dude November 21, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    i also, bored this type of network because this network let us to meet our earlier friends but we are not given the powers to talk privately it seems to be open.
    that why i am agreed to delete my profile in this orkut type of thing

  34. 36 cool dude November 21, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    i also, bored this type of network because this network let us to meet our earlier friends but we are not given the powers to talk privately it seems to be open.
    that why i am agreed to delete my profile in this orkut type of thing

  35. 37 its me January 7, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    me too hate orkut
    deleted my account
    I don’t like the environment of it
    It looks me vulgar

  36. 38 TAHA March 29, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    this is taha ur friend

    [:(][:)][:P][:D][:O][/)][:X][8)][;)]

    [b]hel[red]lo gi[/red]mme ur ya[red]hoo e[/red]mail bcz to[red]day is m[/red]ah last d[red]ay on or[/red]kut.[:(]

    [green]m le[olive]aving o[green]rkut f[olive]or ever[/green][/olive]

    [maroon]i ha[/maroon]d nic[maroon]e tim[/maroon]e in or[maroon]kut[/maroon]

    [red]wi[/red]th m[red]ah fake[/red]s

    [blue]and m[/blue]ah re[blue]alls[/blue]

    mai[teal]ne[/teal]y ap[teal]ne[/teal]y sa[teal]re[/teal]y re[teal]al [/teal]fake de[teal]let[/teal]e kar d[teal]iy[/teal]ey h[teal]ai[/teal]

    a[red]nd m r[/red]eady t[/red]o lea[red]ve ork[red]ut [/red]

    [olive]mai orkut par [teal]nahi aunga [/olive][/teal]

    [navy]bye[orange] bye[blue] friend [/navy][/blue][/orange]

    [navy]regards:t[teal]ah[navy]a[/navy][/navy][/teal]

    [red]sor[teal]ry gy[/teal]s it was m[/red]ah fa[red]ke th[/red]ats w[red]hy i w[/red]as v[red]ery o[/red]cca[red]sion[/red]aly onli[red]ne

    last [/red]bye [red]bye

    [:(][:)][:P][:D][:O][/)][:X][8)][;)]

  37. 40 mr nobody September 5, 2008 at 3:14 am

    hey TAHA dis is not orkut you fool hahahhahahahahahhahah

    dis > [:(][:)][:P][:D][:O][/)][:X][8)][;)] don’t work ove here

    adios…

  38. 41 Ash November 1, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    I so much agree with you buddy!Glad there’s someone other than me to admit it. No privacy, no warmth, sort of hypocritic at times. Nyways,Take care, have fun all of ya!:D

  39. 42 payal December 7, 2008 at 8:41 am

    evn mm a part of hi5….i hate hi5 frm da core….ppl cnt chat over thr…if we wanna reply we have to go to the another persons profile …and…thats the waste ov time……at least on orkut….we can chat easily..bt still mm a part of orkut….n i luv to be the part of orkut…i agree that itz a waste of time…but…still if u dont have to do anything…go and sit on orkut…and pass ur time…

    i payal

    signing offffffffffff

  40. 43 RAYAN December 18, 2008 at 3:51 am

    I entirely agree with every word SAYAK has written about Orkut..WELL SAID DUDE!!

  41. 44 Ganesh January 8, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I hate it.. someone created a fake profile of my sister. and damn it took two weeks to delete it that too after reporting it to cybercrime police..Google pays no attention to your worries. It is really risky for girls…..at least they should add user verification mechanism like mobiles phone number verification.

  42. 45 kalrav January 22, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    yeh me to….out of orkut n happy…..[:)]

  43. 46 kalrav January 22, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    its a biggest time waster, hypocratic at times….missused a lot…..vulgarity is der, no privacy….etc….etc….i have seen lots of my friends wasting times checking opposite sex profiles…

    ofcourse der r some positive n good sides…i.e u can contact ur old friends, some communities r also usefull

    i think it depends upon us how we use it….

    i think it should be modified or be banned in india (atleast)…..[:x]

    (personal opinion- belief)

  44. 47 bygabi March 22, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Hi,
    I’m brazilian here all the people have Orkut, is scarry…i hate Orkut because is a obligation in the “clique”, the people are so empty there and bored…sometimes i can’t resist because i want a orkut indeed( i’m very curious about the life from others peoples, all the people think like that…)but then i think that i never will be more popular or beautiful or original with orkut…so i hate orkut so much…
    You have no idea how many people have in orkut brazil…i’ts crazy, the first thing that people ask you when you are meeting is “do you have orkut?” i hate hate hate hate this so much!
    thanks,
    Gabi

  45. 48 Andreas April 6, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Good for you. Never join a social networking site. The reasons are
    1. They are social engineering sites.
    2. They keep you isolated.
    3. Loss of privacy and security.
    4. Spying by your own friends and sometimes strangers.
    It is totally an unwanted activity, for which you have to spend your time everyday. I suggest you to collect everyone’s email ID and form a google group or something and delete the orkut account. I have done the same and I’m proud of myself for doing that.

  46. 49 Mandira June 7, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    yeah…I agree
    Orkut sucks(although I am addicted!!)

  47. 50 VIPIN July 5, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Guys, just one question, why you are blaming orkut? Just because you lost your girlfriend to someone????

    It has happened with me more than once now.. But frankly speaking, girls themselves are more desperate these days to get attention from boys. And believe me, most of the time bad boys will impress your girl. That’s why I hate orkut. Those boys, who are expert in chatting and flirting with girls, will make your girl fall for them, get their phone numbers exchanged and start dating with them…

    I will say that orkut has left no sense of security in any relationship these days. Even married people are not safe… But why blame orkut? Blame it on the mentality of people. Everybody just wants more and more people to flirt with, and orkut has provided them an excellent medium to do that…

    Earlier, it used to be Yahoo Messenger, but on Yahoo Messenger, our private information was not that much easily visible, on orkut everything is visible, but still, it’s people who post their own pictures and write every stuff about themselves…

    One friendly piece of advise, if you have a girlfriend and if you are serious about her, better be careful if she has an account on orkut…! These days you just can’t trust any girl, whether she is on orkut or not, but if she is on orkut, better be prepared…!

  48. 51 vijay kumar October 1, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    True that orkut is a phaltu site…and the worst part is the public there…

    By contrast, facebook is much better, not only in terms of the site but also in terms of the public there. People there write their formal names instead of something fucking like “Life is a…” or a multicolored, cheaply decorated, multilingual nomenclature.

  49. 52 anoop October 1, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    i hate orkut,i broke up with my friends because of it.fuck orkut

  50. 53 Anonymous June 1, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Nicely said. I fully agree with you people. Anybody having doubts can contact me and talk to me what had happeened with my friends who posted her pics on the internet. It’s not possible for me to write.

  51. 54 orkutwala January 21, 2011 at 10:14 am

    OrkutWala.com provide you with access to a complete list of orkut scraps, orkut greetings, orkut glitter graphics, orkut images, messages and comments for your orkut scrapbook Please vist:http://www.orkutwala.com/


  1. 1 Jessie Trackback on February 8, 2009 at 2:40 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


