Why do I need 500 words?

During a recent trip to home, my cousin brother comes to me and asks me to help him with an essay. He had chosen the topic “My Aim in Life”. I asked him what he wants to be, and we being born into a family of doctors, and he being a kid instantly replied, “I want to be a doctor”. “Ok”, I said, “Problem solved. Now just start writing the essay.” He came back in a minute with a 9 word long essay – “My aim in life is to become a doctor.” Bemused, I asked him for the rest of it and he said, “This is it.”

Patiently I started explaining to him as to how an essay is written – introduction, some quotes, good matter, a proper conclusion etc. I explained to him about the beauty of the written word, the way one can emote so well, you can convey your exact feeling. I gave him the clichรฉd quote – “A pen is mightier then a sword”; how a written word can influence a generation, how the world was revolutionized after the printing press was invented. I was on a roll. I was about launch into another sermon, when to all my remonstrations he posed a simple question, “If I can say what I want in 9 words, why do I waste the rest of 491 words?”

I am still searching for an apt answer.

9 Responses to “Why do I need 500 words?”


  1. 1 utkarsh July 10, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    he he he ..
    sometimes the kids are mightier than anything / anyone else ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. 2 N.S. July 10, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    …to justify our ambitions to a society which does not yet know we exist, with pure ramblings that support the thesis ๐Ÿ™‚ in other words, “just cuz u’re spos’d to!”…haha, kids are so innocent… they have still to learn that 90% of what we read/speak/write as adults is utter b.s. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. 3 Krrish July 10, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    gud one

  4. 5 Kunal July 11, 2006 at 4:10 pm

    @Utkarsh, I sure agree ๐Ÿ™‚

    @N.S., sometimes the whole thing I write is utter b.s… only 90% would be a nice change ๐Ÿ˜›

    @Krrish, what! superheroes on my blog! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    @Sreejith, why are you giving cryptic answers like jayaram ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. 6 N.S. July 11, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    haha perhaps…but for the most part, if your entire blog was consumed with b.s., then superheroes and us normal beings wouldn’t bother to keep coming back and commenting… either that, or what we write may be b.s. as well, in which case the two negatives make your enteries to be positive? excuse my randomness.. i’ve gotten a total of 3 hours of sleep last night and at work now being oh-so-productive as you can tell ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 7 Kunal July 12, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    N.S., you need sleep ๐Ÿ™‚ just 3 hrs!!

  7. 8 Arooj July 30, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    sumtymz yew awt to make fings moe clear fo odaz to understand ๐Ÿ™‚ dats y yew`ll have to UTILIZE rest ov da 491 lines ๐Ÿ™‚


  1. 1 Car Illiterate « Something about Nothing Trackback on September 22, 2006 at 4:03 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,072 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


