Hospital Tale

I used to devour Reader’s Digest as soon as it arrived at my doorstep and my favourite section was “Laughter, the Best Medicine”. I never thought about that title, and just kept on reading the jokes, laughing away. The true significance of that title hit me last week.

Last week of May, I was admitted to a hospital for two days. It all happened so suddenly; I went for a checkup and was asked to get admitted. I actually drove to the hospital before being admitted. It was so fast and so sudden that it was scary. Had it not been for her support I would have gone to pieces.

I gave the news to everyone who is close to me; I had thought that this would dwindle the tension. On the contrary the tension turned palpable. I was swarmed by calls. The hospital people started pumping in fluids into me – IV drip and antibiotics and painkillers and what not! I lost count after I had been punctured five times. I had some 10 pills. I did not feel sick before going into the hospital, I felt sick only after the treatment started – the hospital made me sick.

Under siege from the constant barrage of worried phone-calls and medicines, I decided to laugh. I started finding humour in all small things, I started laughing at the antics of some weird Telugu hero (the other guy in the room at hospital was watching Telugu movies), I started flirting with the nurses (one of them was really cute :P), I laughed at myself, I laughed at others, wry and sarcastic humour ruled and it helped! I actually helped my parents and friends to relax, to tone down the tension.

Many friends visited me during the two-day stay at hospital; everyone left disappointed 🙂 Nobody felt that I was sick, I laughed the whole way through, I joked and I just tried to keep an upbeat mood. Laughter and humour pulled me through the two days at hospital. And laughter and humour will rule the roost again next week, during my second trip to hospital.

7 Responses to “Hospital Tale”


  1. 1 Sreejith June 2, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    i am imagining u lying on the bed and rolling over laughing while everyone around you is all hush hush. Makes for a great scene! laugh away to glory. btw get well soon. 🙂

  2. 2 sandeep June 2, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    heard abt ur hospital visit..how r u now buddy..stay well man..health is precious

  3. 3 Asheesh June 2, 2006 at 7:21 pm

    Get well soon dude 🙂

  4. 4 woah June 2, 2006 at 8:49 pm

    Way to go dude .
    Btw what happened all of a sudden ?

  5. 5 mythalez June 4, 2006 at 9:57 am

    all the best with the future visits .. too
    hope u dont need to go again .. 🙂

  6. 6 Kunal June 5, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    Thanks for all the wishes 🙂
    Sreejith, nice imagination.. 😛

  7. 7 poorna shashank June 7, 2006 at 4:04 pm

    kya hua btw? and hoping you are ok now.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

June 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,129 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


