13 hours and going strong

Few of my observations after having spent some time in the IT industry.

  • Basic programming skills are sufficient. Know-how on how to manipulate pointers, linked lists, arrays and you are done.
  • In algorithms, the most frequently used and the most useful algorithm by far is the Binary Search. Next most frequently used "algorithm" in IT industry would be Brute Force πŸ˜‰
  • Knowledge of SQL is necessary. Only [select * from table] is not sufficient. Update, Create (views & sequences & tables), Insert etc are needed frequently. Join conditions are a must.
  • Knowledge of Networks is very helpful. Socket Programming and all those boring assignments are indeed useful.
  • Software Engineering _is_ important, very important – period. Coding is _actually_ the smallest part of any project. (I never believed people who used to say this, now I believe!)
  • Parsers are must.
  • Operating Systems, Compilers do not have much importance.
  • High-funda algos like The Shortest-Path-Algo and Dijkstra-Algo etc are rarely, if ever, used.
  • There are stupid people in here too πŸ˜› 

But this does not mean that OS & Compilers & High-Funda-Algos are useless. Without these a proper understanding of the working of code is impossible & without that knowledge I would have to categorize myself in the stupid-category… Yeah, it is apne muh miya mitthu, but being of a Computer Science background does help a lot!!

Parting Shot: Life without _loops_ is HELL!!

3 Responses to “13 hours and going strong”


  1. 1 Rakesh Singh March 30, 2006 at 11:34 am

    Coding since last 13 hrs !! Kunal you sure have changed

  2. 2 Asheesh March 30, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    13 hrs of coding !!!

    U r rocking dude πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Kunal April 1, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    😦 13 hours of coding! (make that 14)
    Even I am unable to believe it now…


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,842 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


