Colourless Holi

From home to roaming through Raipur in a bicycle to roaming through Raipur in a scooter to IIIT’s NBH hostel to IIIT’s football ground to the tank behind guesthouse to sitting in office blogging about it.

Holi has certainly changed 😦

Holi @ NBH in 2002 (my first year, 2nd semester) was by far the best Holi ever. 5 a.m. in the morning and someone starts banging on the door. With drowsy eyes I open the door and get drenched in ice-cold water. And thus, the celebrations start. I don’t remember who was the guy who drenched me, I have no clue who all were waiting outside to colour me, but I do remember that along with these people I woke up the whole batch and by breakfast time we had exhausted all colours. After painting NBH red & pink, we motored towards OBH and there a deathly silence meets us. After all it’s just 9, why should anyone be awake? The seniors were all blissfully asleep. Thanks to us, the Holi celebration were kicked off in OBH too and the white walls were soon pink (courtesy, the colours provided by seniors). The Holi celebrations shifted center to Guest House Lawn and long after the lunchtime, finally, the celebrations abated.

Next morning in one of the classes, Jayanti mam enters and starts scolding us, after all we were the people who had coloured NBH & OBH walls! We were ordered to clean the walls; armed with scrubs and water pipe we got down to business. We scrubbed all the walls clean, they again became white & we played a second round of Holi (although with only water this time). Ahh, it was fun – two Holi celebrations in two days πŸ˜€

Unfortunately there were talks of banning Holi celebrations because of these events; after the cleaning expedition and our apologies the faculty looked down benevolently and did not enforce the ban on Holi, but the next day a new rule appeared in the rule-book of IIIT: Holi & Diwali would not be celebrated in hostel, all celebrations would take place in the football ground.

Those were the days!

5 Responses to “Colourless Holi”


  1. 1 adi March 15, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    me too missing a lot … Yaa , surely NBH holi was the best till now ..

  2. 2 Rakesh Singh March 15, 2006 at 2:03 pm

    Yup,
    those were by far the best days of our lives … miss ya IIIT ..

  3. 3 Asheesh March 15, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    .. I still remember vividly people running after
    each other with colurs in their hand ,colours ,smiles
    and the bangs on the door !!

    chajju, popy chasing everyone to get their T-shirts off , and post holi celebrations in the water -tank πŸ™‚

    And today here I am sitting in my office, watching people doing their daily chores ,

    Holi certainly has changed!!

  4. 4 Sreejith March 16, 2006 at 5:47 pm

    That would be vishnu and aaradhya who started that eventful holi… the best holi celebrations i’ve been part of πŸ™‚ those certainly were the days.

  5. 5 Ak-84 March 17, 2006 at 4:54 am

    wat!! u didn’t play holi?? Shit, are such the days in corporates.. busy busy.. /:)


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


