Two left feet

♫ ♪ ♫ Dancing in the moonlight… ♪ ♪ ♫
♫ ♪ ♫ Dancing with myself… ♪ ♪ ♫
♫ ♪ ♫ Dancing through life… ♪ ♪ ♫
♫ ♪ ♫ Dancing in the street… ♪ ♪ ♫
♫ ♪ ♫ Dancing in the starlight… ♪ ♪ ♫
♫ ♪ ♫ Dancing alone… ♪ ♪ ♫

It seems to me all lyricists of the world hate me. Why do they have to write songs that even talk about something like Dancing? *sob* They touch an exposed nerve here 😦 When someone mentions Dancing, I can ♫ ♪ ♫ Crash and Burn… ♪ ♪ ♫ Ahh! At least one lyricist does not hate me, crash and burn, it is.

I have had a long association with the torture called Dancing. Long and horrific. Years ago, somehow I convinced myself that dancing on stage is not that bad. I practiced for hours and hours, grimaced through all my classmates laughing at me, but carried on and put my best foot forward. 8 of us guys were doing Bhangara (which I earlier presumed – quite stupidly – to be the easiest form of dance) and the guy who was dancing with me was also a first-time dancer. He was all arms and legs, hyperactive, and no co-ordination. I was stiff as a scarecrow, hardly moving, and no co-ordination. D-Day arrived! And we danced in front of the whole school, with all teachers present. I don’t know how I danced, how I endured myself on the stage, but I remember one thing, we were the most photographed people! I hope our photographs were shot because we were good, and not to show to others as the best comedy show that they missed *shudder* I am just thankful, that there are no video recordings of that forgetful day.

Even now when we meet, my classmates demand a comedy-show from me 😦

5 Responses to “Two left feet”


  1. 1 ramneek December 8, 2005 at 5:18 pm

    Just the idea of dancing on the stage sounds scary to me. Dancing in your own house (or for that matter, even a pub) after getting drunk is fun, though.

    Btw, even I’d want to see you dance sometime someday ;))

  2. 2 Rakesh Kumar December 9, 2005 at 9:53 am

    and I thought your favorite song is “Dancing in the Moonlight” 🙂 …
    waise dont worry, one of your left feet will turn right with the help of “right company”..

  3. 3 Kunal December 9, 2005 at 10:02 am

    Ramneek, dream along. No harm in dreaming! The day you see me dancing again will be the day Osama gets a Noble for Peace 😀

    Rakesh, “right company” sounds so right.. 🙂

  4. 4 MS December 11, 2005 at 7:04 pm

    Hey Kunal!!
    Firstly, I would like to commend you for your excellent blog……I am new to this bliggong fraternity…..n was somehow directed to your blog a week back….have read many of your posts….n have been really overwhelmed with their contents!!! Gr8 going friend (if i coud have u as one of my frendz) :-)….what I really liked about your posts is your usage n command over the language – which is really amazing – n yet you convey your thoughts in a simple n vivid manner….which i assure is really difficult to do….. Keep it going!!!

    Well, as for dancing….yeah many people say….N I too personally feel (after seeing some guys) like – It comes nAtURaLLy to some people!!! But anyways we too are not bad…..we can certainly shake a leg elegantly, what say??? 🙂

    Hey, by the way we do dance in our official lives as well – dancing to the tunes of our hectic workAholic Life!!! 🙂

    Cheers!!
    MS.


  1. 1 Baseless Ramblings » Blog Archive » Down the Memory Lane Trackback on February 13, 2006 at 8:16 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

December 2005
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,147 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


