THE question!

They just kept on coming… One after another, relentless, not giving me time even to breathe. On and on, my relatives kept on; everyone asking me THE question. The question that I dread the most… Just the thought of facing that inevitable question gives me shivers! Oh, no! Not again, not the same question again! THE question, “Recognized me?”

Why does everyone have this obsessive narcissistic question? The first relative was content when I bluffed and said, “Yes”, even the second person was happy that I recognized him. Well, it seems I am having the rub-of-green. Maybe I can bluff my way through the hordes of relatives! My casual, innocuous walk turns into a swagger, today I’ll bluff my way through THE question! As the geeky villain in Golden Eye said, “I am eenveenceeble!” I totally agreed with that guy! Bring on the next relative, lo-and-behold here comes the next one, “Recognized me?” Shamelessly I (with a huge grin on my face) say, “Yeah!” Relative, “Achcha, name me?” The swagger goes off, the grin changes to a frown and the geeky villain of Golden Eye gets drenched in liquid nitrogen and hell freezes over. I was so intent on avoiding THE question, that I never noticed the sequel to it! Playing in the minds of relatives around you, now bubbling, sequel to THE question: THE-II! Please try to avoid it!

All subsequent renderings of THE question were met with a firm NO, although with a smile; I thought that I recognized one or two relatives, but why take the chance?!? Better be safe then sorry.

I hate parties, and now I hate marriages too!! I sure am not a social animal.

4 Responses to “THE question!”


  1. 1 kopos November 24, 2005 at 4:21 pm

    :)) lol.

    *thinks animatedly to mark all these questions that need to be avoided at social gatherings*

    how about you going and asking the question?

  2. 2 Kunal November 24, 2005 at 4:26 pm

    If I were to ask the questions, the first criteria would be – Recognize someone to whom the question should be directed!
    And I am bad at associating faces with names 😦

  3. 3 mythalez November 24, 2005 at 5:43 pm

    reply as: “Uh? U must hav mistaken me for kunal as everyone else here as been doing” 😀

  4. 4 Kunal November 25, 2005 at 9:32 am

    Let me try that out at the next wedding.. 🙂
    By the way Rama, are you trying to get me kicked? 😀


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2005
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,891 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


