Oneiro

Is there any logic behind dreams? What do dreams signify? Do dreams depict what I want the most? Or are they just related to my day-to-day happenings? How do I interpret my dreams?

For me dreams have been a combination of logic less, pertaining to my day-to-day happenings and sometimes it has been what I want the most. Two days back, I dreamed I am buying a house, a very nice house for just 4 lacs (this is one of the wild dreams people dream about where they get a palace at dirt-cheap price). But the weird part was that I calculated the amount I’d have to pay every month for the next 2 years, down to the second decimal point! When I woke up and checked my calculation, it was perfect! No mistakes… I researched a bit about dreams and found this “As such, our dreams should be able to give us useful insights into how to solve problems. In this theory, a recurring dream is an example of an unsolved problem.” This is just one of the many theories I came across, but it definitely explains why I used to solve Crosswords in my dream, or how come I solved a nasty Physics question from Irodov in my sleep which had bugged me for 3-4 days. But this theory still does not explain why I bought a house in my dream…

Another theory is “wish fulfillment” given by Sigmund Freud. This still does not explain why I bought a house, although it explains the dream I had last night… And then there is another line of thought, according to which “we dream to forget”. Nah, I don’t like this theory. Some of my dreams have been anything but forgettable.

Also I came across Lucid Dreaming, which is being aware in a dream that one is dreaming. There are techniques to induce this, including severe sleep deprivation. I had experienced this once, I realized I was dreaming and I woke up. That act was anything but lucid, if people can fly in their lucid dreams, I could also have done something. Anyways I missed that, and I am not depriving myself of my precious sleep just to experience some silly dream.

Enough of dreams, I am off to my favorite time pass – Day Dreaming, it is so much better then normal dreams, at least I know the logic!

10 Responses to “Oneiro”


  1. 1 Sreejith September 30, 2005 at 10:49 pm

    My theory – Everyone has dreams.. its just that we can either remember them or we cant.
    If u can remember the dream ur worrying too much.
    If u cant remember your dream it means that you have slept blissfully and you dont seem to have any worries. Be thankful for that 🙂

  2. 2 sandeep October 1, 2005 at 3:26 am

    dont think so much … just dream…or better just sleep…:D 😀

  3. 3 Raji October 1, 2005 at 8:59 am

    good calculations 😉
    need analysis kunal?
    goto hyperdictionary.com and enter the keywords n tehre u go….today i was drenching in rain…

  4. 4 Kunal October 1, 2005 at 1:17 pm

    @sreejith:
    dude go and read up on REM. you have just explained that whole thing in a nutshell. you could well be in oneirology.. 🙂

    @sandeep:
    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Nothing beats sleeping 😀

    @raji:
    thanks, it seems my maths is good

  5. 5 Sreejith October 1, 2005 at 9:03 pm

    Whats this REM?? the only REM i’ve heard of is the great rock band REM. remember “Losing my Religion”? 🙂 post a few links abt it na.

  6. 6 kunal October 1, 2005 at 11:51 pm

    Sreejith, some links here:
    On dreams

    On REM

    On Lucid Dreaming

    And yeah ‘Losing my Religion’ still rocks.. 🙂

  7. 7 Nirnimesh October 2, 2005 at 5:13 pm

    One school of thought is that dreams actually are indicative of future. I belive it because it happend to me — I saw someone in my dream about an year before I actually met that person in real life.

    Another theory says that you dream more when you are disturbed. Dreams are indicative of restlessness. Sound sleep doesn’t comprise of dreams.

  8. 8 kunal October 3, 2005 at 4:29 pm

    @nirnimesh
    well dreams being indicative of future, i do not believe in that.
    and dreaming is not indicative of restlessness, remembering them is a sign of that. everyone has dreams, but we remember them only when our sleep is disturbed. if one wakes up naturally generally dreams are not remembered.

  9. 9 Utkarsh Khare October 6, 2005 at 1:17 pm

    oye … POST SOMETHING ..
    I beg you .. plz plz plz plz plz plz ..
    And ask rocky/syantika/maddy/ranta/parry/
    to please update their blog on a daily basis.
    More than one post a day shall be rewarded thtrough sodexho coupons

  10. 10 Kunal October 6, 2005 at 2:46 pm

    @utkarsh
    Yes sir!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2005
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,891 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


