Hyderabad still rocks…

In Raipur I drive in my subconscious. I start from place-X, need to go to place-Y, and I reach there without even thinking about the road I have to take, the shortcut through the alley, I avoid the potholes without even looking at them, I slow down automatically at the speed-breaker, I don’t have to look in all directions at once… It has happened many times, that I reach my destination and then I realize Oh! Yeah, I drove till here. I have had countless daydreams while driving there.

Earlier in Hyderabad, when I did not know the roads etc, I had to remember the roads; I had to lookout for potholes and speed-breakers. But after driving in Hyderabad for so long a time, even traversing through Hyderabad had become a part of the subconscious. But now, it seems there has been an explosion of vehicles in Hyderabad or because I am a part of the rush hour now, I feel that way. Earlier the journey used to be from one place to another, now it is from one traffic-jam to another. But still when there is less traffic, I get into the cruise mode and let my subconscious take over. This weekend, for two days I drove in Bangalore. Leave aside the subconscious, even when fully conscious, it is a nightmare driving there. You have to look ahead, look to the right, look to the left, look in the right rear-view mirror, and look in the left rear-view mirror and that too all at the same time. If there is a gap of about 6 inches between your bike and the vehicle ahead, the army of vehicles behind you sound off war – they keep on honking until that distance has reduced to 6 mm. A small gap appears in the traffic and even the bus starts creeping into it.. And I saw a strange kind of bus at Bangalore. Two buses connected together through a rubber tube kind of thing (similar to two railway coaches joined together). Each of the part of that weird bus has a mind of its own. The second part seems to move on its own accord, irrespective of the first part.

But the good thing about the Bangalore traffic is that, it restored my respect for the Hyderabad traffic. I thought that traffic in Hyderabad could not get any worse, now I know. Traffic in Hyderabad is good!

September 27th, 7:25 pm

12 Responses to “Hyderabad still rocks…”


  1. 1 Anonymous September 28, 2005 at 8:59 am

    you call hyd. traffic as good ?? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    ithink u havent had that much on road exp. before hyd.

    PlayBoi
    (hope u still rmr who playboi is)

  2. 2 kunal September 28, 2005 at 9:33 am

    i hated the traffic of hyderabad.. but dude, go and drive once in bangalore. i’m sure you’ll change your mind. at least here everyone is not out to hit you.

    btw i sure remember who playboi is.

  3. 3 sandeep September 28, 2005 at 10:55 am

    hyderabad rox…or in nir’s terminology its ‘cool’ ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. 4 Anonymous September 28, 2005 at 6:31 pm

    Talkin about traffic,if u wanna have a nice taste of traffic,u can come to chennai n drive a two wheeler in rush hour.ppl with hit u n go n they wont even apologise.
    Cars taking wrong ways n bus drivers drivin like they got a new pulsar on road is a common sight.
    So dude don say that hyd traffic is BAD,its heaven as compared to this place

  5. 5 Nirnimesh September 30, 2005 at 4:29 pm

    You can avoid all the traffic if you keep safe hours. For say, reach the office late! Leave the office early. Of course, the side-effects are not guaranteed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 6 Kunal September 30, 2005 at 4:48 pm

    @sandeep:
    i agree!

    @nirnimesh:
    ya i am avoiding the traffic and the possible side effects too. i reach office early and leave late.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 7 Hyderabad Traffic October 8, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    I saw some interesting discussions on Hyderabad’s traffic once (I think on this Hyderabad site). There was also this very funny forward floating around about driving in town – where the author writes that honking twice was an expression of lust :). Yes, it’s getting worse.

  8. 8 Nauke December 7, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    Hyderabad and wild traffic are made for each other. One cannot survive without the other. THey are made for each other like Siamese twins.they love each other

    Wah! our traffic is born to thrill . One cannot but marvel at the chunk of chaos that runs riot on our roads. It is like a battlefield with every tome , dick and harry jostling for the best availible space to zoom ahead as the undisputed king of the road. Traffic rules goes for a toss and traffic cops go for a somersault. The less said about them, the better. The way they control traffic makes even a baby laugh. It is like a circus show with the poor cop looking like a lost child searching for his lollipop. Cops have become more of lifeless statues.

    No rules are followed, all lanes look like one with each trying to outwit the other. what happens next , no one knows? vehcile zoom from both front and behind to leave a trial of gutter confusion. If the traffic on the main roads behave like this, what about the lesser known roads? Your guess is as good as my puss.

    Road digging has become a pastime. Chaps come with heavy weapons and start dig firing the roads and then walk off as cool as a cucumber. The dug spots will be as it is for generations before their grandchildern come and plaster them up.

    Spitting is another pastime in our beautiful city. Chaps coolly spit caring a damn , left, right, back and then straight. it is better if such chaps are made to clean the spot wher they have left a huge spit mess. or they should be made to lick the spot where they spit.

    Hyderabad is getting hep as more clowns join the circus to create a panaroma that is fit to be preserved in a photo frame or a video show.

    Unless chaps are educated in abc of traffic and other murky bunks , things will go on as usual . the tamasha will never end. but basha will bend.

    Folks, any questions u want to ask me? we will have a debate.

  9. 9 Aditya January 5, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    even u felt the same when i went to bangalore 4-5 months back…even the roads in hyd are better than bangalore… nd the double-coach bus amused me too a lot… ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. 10 Senseasian November 8, 2007 at 6:45 am

    I completely agree with Nauke. After driving in this rediculously ignorant and illetrate traffic conditions I felt only God can help this city from the traffic woes.. On one hand the Govt(ruling party) is busy occupying and/or selling the land to its own wellwishers, there is no one to take care of the traffic problems or any common problems that we all are facing in the city on the other.

    I bet it will take ages to get things straightened up. Good to hear that there are other cities worser than Hyderabad.

    God save India…


  1. 1 Rakesh’s Place » A close call to fame… Trackback on November 18, 2005 at 5:28 pm
  2. 2 Baseless Ramblings » Blog Archive » Love & Hate Trackback on January 30, 2006 at 6:44 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2005
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 414,047 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


