Raipur

Today I was in for a surprise. I have known it forever that Raipur is not clean, but at least considered it better then most metros. I was wrong. Today’s TOI had the following news:

The country’s most polluted city is Raipur, Chhattisgarh’s capital. On Monday, the environment ministry …

Yeah, I agree that Raipur is dusty, has more then its share of industries around it and more vehicles then most places the size of Raipur, but the most polluted city! Thats preposterous! We have proper supply of clean water, the residential areas are clean, we have numerous parks – although small in size, but they are there and the roads are cleaned every morning. People do not die there because they drank dirty water or inhaled polluted air. I know Raipur is not that clean, but I beg to differ with the enviroment ministry who proclaim that it is the most polluted city. I ought to know, I have lived there my whole life. I have eaten bhel, samosa etc from most of the hawkers there, and am yet to fall sick because of that. No matter what, Raipur is my home and I love it…

August 23rd, 10:03 pm

6 Responses to “Raipur”


  1. 1 paresh August 23, 2005 at 10:11 pm

    You are correct. Raipur is better than most metros. In addition to what you said, no one dies because they fell in open manholes. Anyways Times of India is notorious of printing junk.

  2. 2 Vishal August 24, 2005 at 10:49 am

    Dil par mat lo yaar…
    Any way its times of India.

    Look I am more worried that how Lucknow and Kanpur didnot find their name in the report.
    With swine population exceeding the number of homosapiens, to expect pure water is a joke… About air pollution !! I dont need to say anything.I guess u guys got a taste of it already.

    So why Raipur??? Thats really unfare :))

  3. 3 Utkarsh Khare August 26, 2005 at 10:45 pm

    it’s ok dude .. Chill

  4. 4 Sreejith August 29, 2005 at 9:09 pm

    Btw Chennai is great.. air pollution is minimal considering it is a metro. And there is plenty of greenery all around 🙂 never mind the water.. or the lack of it 😀

  5. 5 coolvir September 4, 2005 at 10:26 pm

    I had lived in raipur for 22 years.And as far as it being dusty,its true.But it has changed a lot in past 4 years.Roads have become wider and it has definately become cleaner.
    BTW TOI has a tendency to exggerate facts a lot.so,dont mind it that much

  6. 6 Awanish July 21, 2006 at 6:09 pm

    I completely agree, Raipur is relatively cleaner, lesser density of traffic, clearner residential areas, fewer traffic jams, wider roads, purer water, etc to many of the other cities of same size. was the survey done comparing it with other capitals? if yes, then its totaly unfair. as pointed out byvishal, why is lucknow and kanpur not in the list.

    I am a native of raipur but havent stayed there much. i did my graduation from there and i think it rocks.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2005
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


