World War II

Just completed reading “The Winds of War” by Herman Wouk. An awesome book about an American family caught in the storm of the World War II. For the first time in my life I was genuinely interested in WW-II. Whenever people around me talked about it, I just shut my mouth and tried to understand what it was all about. Always I was unsuccessful.

I watched many movies on WW-II, but they were always regarding one specific incident, one specific battle, never the whole war. “Enemy at the Gates” was an awesome movie, but what was the Battle of Stalingrad? I never knew the details, I even tried to read some books on WW-II, but none held my interest. This was the first book that had my full attention.

A part in this book had the German perspective of WW-II, why Germany lost the war, what were the mistakes made by Hitler etc. I’d like to read more about WW-II, especially the German perspective. I’ll search for books online. But I have no idea which are good books, which are not. So people, help me out. Do tell me some nice websites and nice books from where I can know more about WW-II.

June 7th, 12:47 pm

5 Responses to “World War II”


  1. 1 ironhide June 7, 2005 at 3:18 pm

    hey i have had that wouk book for sometime now but never got around to reading it as i thought it was a novel and not a factual narration..
    maybe i will dig it out and read it now

    if you ever come to vizag i know a private library that has more ww2 books than you can hope to finish in a resoanable time ..
    so do plan that trip

  2. 2 ias June 11, 2005 at 6:24 am

    after a long long time…
    btw welcome to the club man… Heil Hitler!! 😉

  3. 3 ironhide June 11, 2005 at 11:17 pm

    couldnt ressist when i saw imran saying welcome to the club ;))

    imran..remember a “true story” called ss-gb? the one in which churchill was kidnapped..britain conquered and all that :))
    yeah the same one about which you argued with vamsi

  4. 4 vamsee June 18, 2005 at 8:19 am

    Hey Jaya, Imran didn’t argue with me. He was so dead certain about the factuality of SS-GB, I just shut my mouth amazing how a guy who could say ‘Heil Hitler’ is so ignorant 🙂

    If you want some WW-2 books, you can drop in my room. And if you buy any book on WW-2, let me have a preview. Well, welcome to the club.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

June 2005
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 414,047 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


