The four kinds of bumps… (Proper Data Mining Techniques Applied)

There are four kinds of bumps-

  1. Mishits: These are the ones that land where they are least intended. The champion of the Mishits turned out to be Imran. Three out of five were offmark. Bedi (He lived up to his name – BadAccuracy) also was a Mishit. Although all of Bedi’s kicks (I believe about four of them) were Mishits too, but Imran wins out in quality. So I crownImran the champion of Mishits.
  2. Shouters: These are the ones that land bang on target, echo around the room and a scream escapes you. You dread them, you anticipate them, but there is no escaping them. A swift kick and AHHHHH. Visesh wins hands down as the winner of this category. Although he had stiff competition from Parivesh, but thankfully Parivesh honoured me with just one of his kicks whereas Visesh went on a rampage. I remember about six kicks of him, after which I lost count.
  3. Silent Killers: These are the ones that land bang on target, you won’t even hear the kick on contact and not even a scream escapes you. All your insides are rattled, you want to scream and then you realize that even your voice has deserted you. While Shouters were swift, the Silent Killers are slow. The Silent Killer lines you up properly, gets everyone out of the firing range, sizes you up, takes aim, mocks a kick, tries another practice shot, grins for the camera, and then BOOOOOOOM you are hit. You have lost your tongue somewhere in the larynx… The winner of this category was Jayaram, he just outdid Ranta. Both of them hit two kicks each. But Jayaram did it with better timing. He had the last laugh, the last kick. They both were intent on more kicks, but thankfully God appeared in form of Abhinav and Aditya.
  4. Also-Kicked: Rest all the people fall in this category. These are the ones that are the most irksome. People keep on coming back to intervene with the Shouters and Silent Killers. They add Ghee to the fire. As compared to the above kicks these are nothing, but on a stand-alone basis these too are more then enough. The undisputed champion of this category was Ramneek, based only on the number of kicks he deployed – about 10 of them I’d say.

I was a witness to all of them from the worst vantage point. Hanging in mid-air, supported just by two pair of hands….. Ah, it was very painful!

So what I did on my birthday?
12:00 midnight – Played football. Unluckily I was the football
12:30 am – The Holi celebrations started early this time
2:00 am – An awesome choclate cake with the most innovative icing (Will upload a photograph asap)
2:30 am – Back to Lab and working on FYP. Demo at 3:15 (Just over 12 hrs left!!!) Work.. Nap.. Tea.. Work.. Tea.. Work.. Tea.. Tea.. Work.. Tea.. Majjj is a maniac. How can someone work that hard, for that long a time!! Hey its demo time already!
3:15 pm – The long wait begins.
4:05 pm – Majjj and I enter the room. Give presentation. Give no demo. Kamal Sir screws us.
4:45 pm – We leave the room, definitely screwed but happy that at last it has ended 🙂 A smile on my face for the first time in the day.
5:00 pm – CS time.
7:00 pm – Pizza time! With Abhinav off to Domino’s
9:30 pm – More CS time
2:00 am – Blissful sleep!!!

So “The Adventure of 23rd March” ends… Thanks to all for making it one of my most memorable days at IIIT.

Mar 25th, 7:57 pm

4 Responses to “The four kinds of bumps… (Proper Data Mining Techniques Applied)”


  1. 1 ramneek March 26, 2005 at 2:35 am

    10?? I hardly hit you 2-3… (wing members – special concession :>)

  2. 2 SHAIK of Hyderabad March 27, 2005 at 2:59 pm

    Dude, it was really an honor to win ur “Mishit King” award..(tears of happiness rolling out from my eyes). But you didnt acknowledge the fact that even though i am currently a person with one leg (for the benefit of others…my right leg and my true weapon in bums giving and a legendary one at that is broken… actually there is a very painful ligament tear if you know what i mean… really painful stuff). So when you hit someone with left leg it misses sometimes especially if someone hanging in the air is swinging with an amplitude of 2 meters and a frequency of 10MHz (Imaging pulling a rubberband to say over a building and see it vibrate without damping that is).
    So the point is, i didnt want to keep ur bday “adhura” without “giving” you something to remember… so even in great pain i too support of 2 frns to hit you with my god forsaken accuracy to a fastly moving target. But hey 2/5 is a really good score for a PH candidate (even in IIT-JEE). Hope you appreciate my great love and affection towards you. Your greatest, bestest, loving’est friend.

  3. 3 SHAIK of Hyderabad March 27, 2005 at 3:33 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  4. 4 Kunal March 27, 2005 at 5:26 pm

    Well Imran,
    I am sorry that I did not mention that you hit me with your left leg for the simple reason that I did not notice. When a person is about 3 feet off the ground, swinging with an amplitude of 2 meters and a frequency of 10MHz and getting kicked over that, that person is least likely to notice these mundane things..
    Thanks for all the wishes.. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2005
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 414,047 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


