Seven Year Itch

I don’t know when I fell for her, all I remember is she had always been my dream girl. And no it was not love at first sight, it was love at first mention. From the moment I heard of her, I wanted to make her mine.

I wooed her unlike any other girl I wooed – after all she was the one. I spent nights pining for her, I took advice from people experienced in the matters of heart. I rehearsed my lines, I learned to tie the perfect knot, I pressed my clothes, I polished my shoes, and I was ready to meet her. In total it took two chat sessions and four dates for me to win her heart. I even remember the date when we got engaged – 19th July, 2004.

Nearly a year later, on 11th July, 2005 I took the vows. We had a rocking relationship. The nights were as passionate as the days, if not more. The weekends were spent together. The romance was alive and kicking. Of course we had our ups and downs but then who doesn’t? We stuck through each trough to celebrate the peak.

There were times when the ebbs were more and the highs kept coming further apart. Maybe that was the reason, maybe we had just crossed the expiry date of our relationship, maybe the declining romance was the reason, maybe it was because now I preferred to spend my weekends with myself, or maybe it was a collection of all these that pushed me to look for gratification outside the wedlock.

I wooed many, most trampled my heart; but I did find love again. The other girl and I professed our love for each other and decided to get hitched. But I had to set the past free. It was not an easy task, you do not take a relationship of 75 months and just flush it down the drain. It wasn’t easy, but it had to be done. After few long discussions we decided it was for the better and filed for separation. Thankfully it was an amicable separation and I would like to believe we are still friends.

I had heard of the 7-year itch, I got hit by the 7th year itch. Coming Monday, I will be getting hitched again.

———–

And so a 6+ year long journey with my first company comes to an end.

11 Responses to “Seven Year Itch”


  1. 3 mythalez October 5, 2011 at 12:17 am

    who is the lucky new gal then? :P

    • 6 Kunal October 6, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Fiction inspired by reality. I’m leaving my first-ever job after a long time and that was the inspiration for this post :)

  2. 7 delhizen October 5, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I knew… the story is not what you are pretending it to be ;) …. Bon Chance for the new beginnings :)

  3. 9 Chittaranjan October 6, 2011 at 3:16 am

    Ah, a fellow long hauler!

    As someone who’s in the 7th year of a steady first relationship, you have my understandning :P

    All the best on your new tryst with the new chick!

    How long do you think the ‘hot chick’ becomes mundane again? ;)

    • 10 Kunal October 6, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      There are a very few of us “long-haulers” remaining. Well now I cannot even call myself one!

      Let us hope the new hot chick remains hot for at least some time. :)

  4. 11 Epizeuxis November 26, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    A 7 year journey described well in a post.Nicely written. :)


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 360,917 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

