Tennis Time

Last week was spent in watching the Australian Open anytime I could, else listening to commentary if possible. And surprisingly this year, I enjoyed the Women’s matches far more than the Men’s Singles (talking about only the QF, SF and Finals). Only one match among the Men’s draw was thrilling to watch – Federer vs Joker was an awesome match. Apart from that this tournament I preferred watching Li Na and Clijsters play some awesome tennis.

It was bad that Li Na lost in the Finals but at least, Kim Clijsters won a hard fought match. All the three sets were equally watchable, and thrilling – both of them produced exceptional tennis regularly. After a long time – post the Serena and Venus era – there were some other players who were playing awesome tennis. Caroline Wozniacki played wonderfully till the semis and then she lost her cool in a pressure match – how can she justify being the world number 1?

I was looking forward to the Men’s Final but it was a letdown. Novak Djokovic was playing a game that reminded me of the way Federer used to toy with his opponents before crushing them. I did not even feel Murray turned up for the Final, rather he sent a clone of his who played passable tennis. There were flashes of brilliance from Murray, but one cannot win a Championship with just a few flashes – there has to be sustained brilliance which was produced by Novak Djokovic. I enjoyed his defensive tennis, when he would be running from one corner to another and then out of nowhere would produce either an exceptional lob or a sizzling cross-court winner while off-balance.

I was hoping for a Rafa-Fed encore, but I think that can wait till Wimbledon :) This Australian Open was only the 3rd in last 24 Grand Slams that has not been won by either Federer or Nadal – that is an exceptional statistic! And not a good read for players ranked 3 or more.

11 Responses to “Tennis Time”


  1. 1 Namrata January 31, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I love the AO because its the most unpredictable of all the grand slams. I agree with the point about woman’s matches being more entertaining this time around. I do not agree with Caroline not deserving to be world no.1 though. She is a rather consistent performer. I am sure she will win a grand slam soon enough. Murray on the other hand is so boring to look at. He plays with the same passion as an old man taking a stroll in the park!

  2. 5 Aniket February 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    At the risk of sounding sexist, I’ve always enjoyed women’s matches more than men’s. Especially Sania Mirza’s and Sharapova’s :P

    Just kidding. True, Fedex vs Joker was an outstanding match. The 3-0 scoreline doesn’t do justice to the match. And Nadal’s injury made that workman Ferrer advance, whose game is not in the least appealing to the eye.

    Missed the final, though even that seems ridiculously one-sided. Guess even I’ll have to switch over to women’s tennis now.

    • 6 Kunal February 1, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      My favourite used to be Hantuchova.. By the way, is she still around? :P

      In the Final, the first set was still evenly fought; second set onwards, it was only Joker. Murray broke once or twice but rarely looked confident enough to hold his own serve.

      As for switching to Women’s tennis, I guess that can wait – right now it is World Cup time :)

  3. 7 Aniket February 2, 2011 at 10:18 am

    If Murray never really wanted to play tennis, God only can answer what he would have done had he done what he wanted to do!

  4. 9 Sanrag February 10, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Too much tennis up on your mind… ( Love-All ;) )

    Liked the story :)


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Tennis Time « Something about Nothing -- Topsy.com Trackback on January 31, 2011 at 12:50 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 362,332 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

