Urban Shots Hyderabad Launch

I had always wanted to attend a book launch, but circumstances never allowed me to attend one. Who knew that the first book launch I would attend would be where I am on the dais to launch my own book! Urban Shots was launched yesterday at Crossword Book Store by three of the authors – Ahmed Faiyaz, Vrinda Baliga, and me.

Unveiling of the books "Urban Shots" and "Another Chance" by (L->R) Vinay Varma, Vrinda Baliga, Kunal Dhabalia, Ahmed Faiyaz

Once the two books (other being Another Chance by Ahmed Faiyaz) were unveiled, we talked about the books, each authors’ writing styles, our inspirations for writing, and how each of us approached writing. Vinay Varma moderated the discussion.

I was very nervous for the initial few minutes on the stage, but once you start talking about something you love, something you really enjoy – the butterflies in your stomach stop flitting about and sit down to listen what you have to say. I spoke about my stories, how I develop them and answered a few questions thrown at me by the audience.

Discussion about the books, contemporary Indian writing, and the Q&A session

After the discussion, I met many interesting people and had an interesting talk with most of them. And then there were the book signings :) Felt really weird signing Urban Shots. And the pen felt like an alien in my hand – for me writing has stopped being about pen and paper, and it has started being about the keyboard now.

Signing "Urban Shots".

Thanks to everybody who came to the event, and made it memorable! Without a doubt, one of the best evenings of my life :)

And I’ve to say this – nothing beats the feeling you get when you see your name in print; or maybe there is something better – you are lying in bed reading a book, just about to nod off, and the last thing you read is a story written by yourself :)

Buy Urban Shots from Flipkart

Buy Urban Shots from IndiaPlaza.in

39 Responses to “Urban Shots Hyderabad Launch”


  1. 1 Sangfroid November 19, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Excellent!
    Congratulations, once again :)

  2. 3 Umang November 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Really proud of you!!! Well Done! You deserve it all…
    BTW, I want’t a signed copy too :-P

  3. 5 Aniket November 19, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Congrats sirjee! Congrats once again!

    And I have a signed copy too! YIPEEE! :D

  4. 7 priyanka November 19, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Congrats kunal.keep in this way only.

  5. 9 Neha November 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    We couldn’t make it to the book launch :(
    But will definetly get hold of your book and read your stories..
    Many Congratulations again !!

  6. 11 sanyam November 19, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Dude !!!

    Your smile says it all :) I always liked your stories and 55’s. Eagerly waiting to lay my hands on this, when am I getting a signed copy?

    I wish I can get a chance like this or inaugurating a gallery of pictures :P

  7. 13 Sambhav November 20, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Congrats ! would be buying one soon.

  8. 15 Jyoti November 20, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Hi,

    Many congratulations. Hope this is just a start of a long and fulfilling journey into the world of literature.

    Loved reading your post about your book’s lauch. Maybe because that’s what I dream about too. To bring my book before the world. Maybe someday that will happen too. :-)

  9. 17 Rakesh November 20, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Super like ! As someone said above, hope this is just a beginning and you attend many such book launch events.
    And who knows one of those books can result in another 3 Idiots

  10. 19 Rakesh November 20, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Forgot to add.. I have placed the order of the book. Next time we meet, please sign it for me :D

  11. 21 Raheja November 21, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    Congratulations dude, thats really awesome. Will grab a copy if I find one in Landmarks or Crosswords here in Delhi. Once again congratulations

    • 22 Kunal November 22, 2010 at 5:46 pm

      Thanks Raheja :)

      And you’ll surely find a copy in Oxford in Connaught Place, after all the book launch happened at that book store :) Anyway you can order it online.

  12. 23 mythalez November 22, 2010 at 4:29 am

    wooohoooo!! we now have a celebrity ;)

  13. 25 Sultan November 22, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Congratulations! Wish you success and loads of royalty :)

  14. 29 Delhizen January 5, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Now that I am here and read about the book, I guess I will pick it up too!

    Congrats on being a published author in print :)

  15. 33 Deboshree March 1, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Wow. Must have been a splendid experience. Here are some late, but still hearty, congratulatory wishes. :D

  16. 35 Akansh Khurana March 15, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Just read this — phenomenal achievement.. Congratulations and keep up the great work!

  17. 37 Nilanjan Dey March 23, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Nice shot.I wonder how stories are born. Characters emerges. They flesh out. They talk. They move. A page is turned. A frame moves before eyes.Why do we like human stories other than exotic space physics? I wonder why I wonder.

    May be this element of wonder pushes us to a different world where we feel the urge to write.

    But, I will be wondering how stories are cooked up. Any recipe. May be yes. May be not. It is like zig-saw puzzle. You never know when pieces will fall in place.

    • 38 Kunal March 25, 2011 at 11:54 pm

      You are absolutely right – a story at times is in the form of a puzzle. You stumble on one plot-point and from that point onwards, you keep finding more scenes/characters/plot-points to take the story to its climax.

      For me the creation of a story is akin to a treasure hunt :)


  1. 1 Down the Road Hyderabad Launch « Something about Nothing Trackback on April 11, 2011 at 1:43 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 359,928 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

