Book Review: Bala Takes The Plunge – Melvin Durai

Bala Takes The PlungeI have always felt that humour is one of the most difficult genre to write. I am not saying that romance, or thriller, or fantasy novels are easy to write, but they cannot stand in the same stead as a humour novel. Being a stand-up comedian, or being a quick-wit is no guarantee that that person can write humour well. Humour articles are another thing; they are short, they have a word-limit, and it is far easier to be humourous in short dosages. That is why, I was apprehensive of the book “Bala Takes The Plunge” by humour columnist Melvin Durai. But I was wrong, the book was hilarious!

The book deals with the most common problem faced by males in India – how to find a girl to marry? Bala lives in America, with his dog America, and has decided to look for girls himself as his mother is intent on getting him married soon. The book recounts his bizarre methods of meeting the girls, and his conversations with the ones that he eventually manages to meet. He tries to woo the girl at checkout counter, joins book-reading clubs and cycling clubs, buys a Rushdie and displays it to impress the lady visitors to his house, digs through the multitude of matrimonial sites, and even thinks of marrying his cousin in his quest to find the perfect girl.

I found two very different kinds of humour in the book – situational humour, and the word play. I’ve always been a fan of word-play and really enjoyed those small strokes of genius. There were sometimes sentences which would not make any sense, and only when I reread the sentence, would I notice the brilliant word-play. One minute the protagonist is talking about shelling money, the next minute is talking about shelling peanuts – and the reader could very easily miss this. Sometimes the humour is in your face, and sometimes it is too subtle to take notice – but in both cases the humour does not seem forced.

Generally I tend to have a few grouses with most of the books that I read, but in this book there were no major sore points. At times the book dragged a bit, and sometimes there were pages of paragraphs with no conversation at all – but apart from those few pages, the book was a very good read.

Go read Melvin Durai’s columns and if you enjoy his brand of humour – I would highly recommend this book.

Addendum: This is a author requested review. Melvin contacted me to review his book.

6 Responses to “Book Review: Bala Takes The Plunge – Melvin Durai”


  1. 1 mythalez October 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    yet another professional author requested review!! …
    anyway am waiting for the time when you will be reviewing your own book and still acknowledging the author’s request in this fashion :P

  2. 3 Aniket October 12, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Will take the plunge with this book.. only if the workload was a bit less :(

    • 4 Kunal October 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      I would say workload is responsible for me reading so many books.
      More tension, bigger the need to unwind, and thus books to the rescue :)


  1. 1 Reviews of “Bala Takes the Plunge” – FunnyColumns Trackback on May 22, 2012 at 9:08 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 358,715 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

