Book Review: Sahyadri Adventure – Deepak Dalal

I think I was around 9-10 years old when I converted to a proper book-worm. Till then I had been reading only Hindi comics (I used to love Diamond Comics :D ), once my elder brother had access to our school library a new world opened up. He would get the books issued, and we used to fight over who would read it first. My love-affair with reading started with Enid Blyton (Famous Five, Secret Seven, Five Find-outers), moved on to Hardy Boys, and thereafter the reading tastes multiplied as I discovered scores of other genres.

Recently I read two books – Sahyadri Adventure [Anirudh's Dream (book-1) and Koleshwar's Secret (book-2)] – by Deepak Dalal that took me back to those days. The author has penned a tale around the Sahyadri range and the Bombay of 1850s. The book is a part of the “Vikram Aditya Series” where the protagonists teenagers Vikram and Aditya get into sticky situations and come up trumps.

Sahyadri Adventure is a adventure novel with all the elements that make it an adventure – it starts innocently enough with sailing & trekking dominating the initial few chapters and then the book goes into overdrive with the chase/action sequences, proceeds on the path of mystery solving with generous doses of historical facts and stories woven around those facts, and ends with a sequence which would look stunning on a big screen if in the hands of a good director/cinematographer.  The books are about a group of kids, one of whom suffers an accident while trekking, and goes through a dream sequence while in coma, and after waking up solves the mystery presented in the dream with the help of friends.

One of the major flaws in the book is that it is completely based on the dream sequence (which goes on for 50% of the book) that Anirudh undergoes, and it requires a major suspension of belief to accept that; but then maybe 12 years back I would have accepted that sequence without any hesitation. After all I am not the target audience for the book.

Deepak Dalal has researched very heavily for the books. Not only has he detailed the Bombay of 1850s and Western Ghats descriptively, he has also detailed the sailing, trekking, and parachuting among other things. This book would be a perfect addition to a school library – an adventure story that packs a heavy dose of history and geography, which librarian would resist that? :)

Addendum: This is a author requested review. Deepak Dalal’s team contacted me to review the book.

10 Responses to “Book Review: Sahyadri Adventure – Deepak Dalal”


  1. 1 કૃણાલ દવે July 29, 2010 at 7:09 am

    According to your last three post, the blog title should changed to “Reviewing about Something, making nothing to everything” :-)

    • 2 Kunal July 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      haha..

      actually 2-3 short stories are in draft stages, but am not getting the kick to finish them.

      • 3 કૃણાલ દવે July 31, 2010 at 4:32 am

        Honestly, your 55 fiction gave me inspiration to create first Gujarati blog on micro fiction. However, I didn’t limit my creativity with 55 words, could be 100 to 300 words. You really amazed me that you were used to read Gujarati. I am thinking about your translation suggestion….

        • 4 Kunal August 10, 2010 at 4:36 pm

          I used to read Gujarati regularly as a kid, although I was very slow. Since then I’ve completely lost touch as I left my home-town.

          Hope you start translating your stories, although I feel that a translation more often then not robs any creative piece of its distinct touch as some nuances can never be conveyed while using some other language.

  2. 5 mythalez July 29, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    free-lancing reviewer you are now … I guess you get a free and constant supply of books now? :P

    oh .. dream sequence you say … inception anybody? :P

    • 6 Kunal July 30, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      wish it was a constant supply of books ;) right now there is just another one in the pipeline.

      and yeah being a freelance reviewer is fun :D

      and if it is a dream sequence, I don’t want to wake up, I don’t need any totem :)

  3. 7 Nanda August 4, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Nice review.
    I am inclined to check it out sometime. My daughter is only 9 though and it looks like she is too young for this book..
    Like you I grew up on the Enid Blyton series initially..
    To me this book looks like the Adventure series with Jack, Kiki the parrot etc.. which I liked very much.

    Anyway, I found your review after getting an email from Reliance Time out about a book launch of the same..and kids can interact with the author.
    Thought it may be useful information for others who may be interested..

    pasting it here: (I AM NOT IN ANY WAY CONNECTED TO RELIANCE! :) )

    Reliance TimeOut invites you to the book launch of the new children’s adventure series “Sahyadri Adventure – Anirudh’s Dream & Koleshwar’s Secret” by Deepak Dalal.

    The “Sahyadri Adventure” books are a heady mixture of fact, fiction and adventure. Vikram, Aditya and Chitra return once more. Exploring the wild and rugged reaches of the Sahyadri Mountains they stumble on a buried secret that only their new friend Anirudh has the power to decode.

    Your kids will get a chance to meet & interact with the amazing author Deepak Dalal at Reliance TimeOut, Cunningham Road on Saturday, 7th August at 5pm .

    Hurry ! Also avail special offers on Children’s Books –

    – Flat 25% off on Astrix & Tintin Box Sets
    – Buy 2 Get 1 for Gerlad Durrell’s Books

  4. 8 harshawardhan August 6, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    are these books available in crossword or such book stores? the link you provided for flipkart shows all books out of stock. :(
    i used to posess all of them except andaman and sahyadri adventures but i seem to have lost them. so basically where can i buy all these?
    thanks!

    • 9 Kunal August 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm

      No idea whether these books are available at any book store, have not visited one in a long time :)
      As for online availability, I know as of now it is not available on any of the sites.

      I’ll email you an id where you can contact the author’s team and find out where the books are available.

  5. 10 Amrita August 11, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Hey,

    Just to answer the queries, yes the books are available in all the leading bookstores including Crossword in the metros.

    Do let us know if you have any problem in sourcing them?

    Thanks much

    Amrita

    (Publicist for Deepak Dalal)


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 359,129 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

