Book Review: Johnny Gone Down – Karan Bajaj

Yesterday morning I caught hold of the book – Johnny Gone Down by Karan Bajaj. I had ordered it from Flipkart and it was delivered on a Monday morning. I thought I’d read 1-2 pages in office, before continuing at home. How wrong I was!? Snatching moments off work, I polished off 140+ pages at work before finishing off the rest 160 at home in a single sitting. The book was without a doubt, one of the best I’ve read in a long long time.

The book is about an MIT graduate – Nikhil Arya – who goes on a vacation to Cambodia before joining NASA and once there his life changes dramatically – and “dramatically” is an understatement. He moves from one unbelievable sequence to another – from a prisoner of war to a monk to a donos of the drug mafia to homeless wanderer and more…

I don’t think I’ve read a book of thriller genre by an Indian author that had me on the tenterhooks all the while I was reading it. At 70 bucks (from flipkart) it is a steal. I would strongly recommend this book to everybody.

Would love to see this book being adapted to a movie :)

18 Responses to “Book Review: Johnny Gone Down – Karan Bajaj”


  1. 1 shrikant June 1, 2010 at 11:28 am

    i m gonna order this one right now. been wanting to read something which will again arouse my interest in reading novels :)

    • 2 Kunal June 1, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      hmm, looks like I’ll have to strike a deal with flipkart .. My recommendation is being taken very seriously :)

  2. 3 Karan June 1, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Thanks for the review!

  3. 4 mythalez June 1, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    @karan, as i saw ur comment first, I wondered whether this ‘Karan’ was Karan Bajaj :P .. and then looked at your pic and the world came back to normal :P

    @kunal, that’s a strong recommendation .. guess it must be really good!

  4. 8 Utkarsh June 1, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    You still blog ??
    damn .. i should update myself !!
    I thought the only way to contact u these days was on twitter :P

    • 9 Kunal June 1, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      I blog very rarely these days dude!

      and no, the best way to catch me still an email.. kabutr kab ud jaye, pata nahi :P

  5. 10 Sangfroid June 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Didn’t read the post because I’m reading the book now :P

    Will come back and add to the review, perhaps :)

  6. 12 jagadish June 15, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    definately some inspirations from 2005 Georgian film 13TZAMETI

  7. 13 indrajeet June 16, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Hey guys,

    I just read the book and found it real good.

    One of the best in the thriller genre by an Indian.

    Really gripping and unpredictable story…

    Also very well written.

  8. 14 Pushpa Bisht July 16, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Really a very good n superb novel i have ever read..
    its very good fiction… i appreciate..

  9. 15 dinakar September 25, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    great work…cool novel…i really loved it….i read chetan bhagath, sidney sheldon and don brown and amny…but i found unique way of writing in their works. But with this I can add Karans name to that list. May be i should als read his first novel….dinakar

  10. 16 dinakar September 26, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    karan…i finished your book….this was my greatest experience with a novel ever…if i were a producer with fat pockets…i would make it a film right away…..thanks for the book…its really wonderful reading…i did’t expect SAM to enter the story when its in full swing…..good work keep going….i know u will be enjoying the sucess of this book…but please do remember that we are waiting for your next flick….dinakar

  11. 17 Namrata September 27, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Read the book a few days back and liked it. Not a lot, but liked it nevertheless. The last part of the story when the protagonist comes back to India and meets his friend was dragged out and I could not connect at all with the way the author described their union.

    With some nips and tucks, it could be turned into a good script for a movie.

  12. 18 mukeshrijhwani July 4, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Short review: if you haven’t read it, trust me and buy it.

    Longer one: I stumbled upon this book, while buying groceries. I had a look, since it was from unknown author, I didn’t spent extra time apart from reading the synopsis. The next time, I saw it in the hands of extremely good looking lady waiting at the airport. The third time, I was getting the information on ‘how to get your book published in India’.

    The final time, it showed up in the list of Indian reads from librarywala.com. I just ordered it.

    I haven’t come across a well written thriller attempted ….. please continue reading on my blog by clicking here. http://bit.ly/kbjohny


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 358,632 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

