Archive for January 19th, 2010

Book Review: Pirate Latitudes – Michael Crichton

I picked this book relying just on the name of the author – Michael Crichton. I’ve almost always liked his sci-fi books, but had rarely liked his writing when he strayed from that genre. But the interesting blurb, and the name of the author was enough for me to buy the book.

Pirate Latitudes is a posthumous book by Crichton. His assistant was going through his computer after his death and found the manuscript for the book. I don’t know why Crichton did not get this book printed earlier. As per me, this is one of his better books. Once all the characters have been etched, the book gallops along like a Sehwag innings.

The book is set in the 17th century, when few of the West Indies islands are under England, and rest under Spain. The warring nations maintain an uneasy peace over the Caribbean waters, but there are skirmishes and bouts regularly. This is the story of another such adventure when a group of English Privateers plan to capture a ship filled with treasure resting at a Spanish stronghold.

This is one book which would make for an interesting movie. As I was reading about the book, I realized that Steven Speilberg is indeed making a movie based on the book. I can already envision Keira Knightley playing the role of Lazue (yeah, that can be attributed to the Pirates of Caribbean).

The book tells a story that has been told scores of times, but even then it manages to hold your attention. An eminently readable book, I would surely recommend it.


Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 361,208 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers