Archive for January 13th, 2010

Book Review: The Storyteller’s Tale – Omair Ahmad

Sometime last year I bought the book “The Storyteller’s Tale” by Omair Ahmad after reading a glowing review of it on one of the many blogs that I follow. But as it happens, I bought at least 4-5 other books when I bought this one, and I concentrated on the other books and promptly forgot about this one.

Recently when I shifted houses and was arranging the books, this book happened to catch my notice as one of the few books that had been left unread by me. It took two hours to rectify the situation, and I am glad I gave the two hours. The book was thoroughly enjoyable.

The book is set in 1700s and is about a storyteller who has to leave Delhi due to attacks by Afghans. He is invited over by a bored Begum in some small village where they share two stories with each other. The first one narrated by the storyteller was not that great, but the other three stories had my complete attention.

It is better to read the book in one go as the last three stories are built on top of each other. And that is an easy task as the novella is only about 120 pages.

It has been ages since I’ve written anything properly, and it shows in the pathetic command I have over the written word right now.


Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 354,730 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers