Out of the Box : Harsha Bhogle

I have been reading Harsha Bhogle’s book Out of the Box over the last two days, and I am captivated. It is a collection of articles written by Harsha Bhogle over the last 5-6 years and it is such a delight to read them now with the added advantage of hindsight.

In the bookstore I also found the book that was released to celebrate Gavaskar’s 60th birthday – a collection of 60 articles by Sunil GavaskarStraight Drive. I read 2-3 pages of each before deciding to buy Bhogle’s book. The collection of Gavaskar’s articles are also very good, but just cannot be compared to the writing style of Harsha Bhogle. It is like reading match reports in Cricinfo and Times of India – ToI will tell you X batted well, Y bowled well, and Team-Z won; whereas Cricinfo will tell you all those things in such a way that you feel sorely sorry for missing the match, and make a promise to yourself not to miss the live telecast of the match next time India is playing.

Back to Harsha Bhogle’s book, it is really hard to keep it down. Each article is just 2-3 pages only, and has a footnote about whatever incident/match is mentioned in the article. I am opening the book at random, and reading whatever article I land on, and till now (I’ve read about 50% of the book till now), there has not been an article that I skipped over.

Out of the Box is a must buy for anyone who loves to read about cricket and all cricket lovers :)

Edit: And now I’m looking forward to reading The Winning Way: Learnings From Sport For Managers by Harsha Bhogle and Anita Bhogle.

6 Responses to “Out of the Box : Harsha Bhogle”


  1. 1 Karan September 22, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Thanks for the tip off. :)

  2. 2 Chittaranjan September 22, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    All these cricket books seem to be priced very highly! Not fair when its the most popular sport in India :|

    Would love to read the writings of Boria Majumdar, Mukul Kesavan, Ramachandra Guha, Neville Cardus et al…only if they were decently priced i.e.

  3. 3 Kunal September 23, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Karan, most welcome!

    Chittaranjan, most of the books, leave alone cricket books, are priced highly :(
    By the way the Gavaskar book is normal priced – 260, and if you are planning to buy Bhogle’s book you can get a very good deal at Flipkart.. Yesterday I saw they are offering 25% discount.. Check this: http://www.flipkart.com/out-box-harsha-bhogle-watching/0670083054-k3w3f9bd2b

  4. 4 Sangfroid September 25, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I’ve never read a sports book. The one that comes close is a sports quiz book I once had.
    But Bhogle’s commentary is pretty much up there, so guess this could be given a spin!

  5. 5 Kunal September 30, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Sangfroid, this one is worth a long ride :)


  1. 1 Book Review: The Winning Way – Harsha Bhogle, Anita Bhogle « Something about Nothing Trackback on June 16, 2011 at 4:23 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 354,683 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

