Were those movies really that good?

I am talking about the movies that are made on any book. I have read the whole Harry Potter series, and I have watched all the movies – none of the movies do any justice to the respective book. I agree that the Harry Potter books are voluminous, and trying to stuff all that information in a 150-minute movie is a stiff task. But it has happened many times, that friends who have not read the books, while watching the movie are unable to follow the sequence of events. For all these movies, I read the books first – none of the movies were up to the expectations.

The case was opposite for Jurassic Park, I had watched the movie long before I read the book; and I loved the movie. Now on reading the book I feel cheated. So many things have been completely ignored – the breeding grounds and the nests of Velociraptors, their attempt at migration; and the end was totally different. But I cannot complain here, Michael Crichton himself has written the screenplay. Another movie that disappointed me badly was Timeline, I thought it was one of the better sci-fi books, but the movie was really bad.

One movie that does justification to the book is Godfather. The book is awesome, and so is the movie. No subplots, no small details have been ignored. Both, the book and the movie are works of genius. I have not read Lord of the Rings, so cannot comment on that.

I think the authors would be getting mixed feelings when anyone approaches them for movie rights. On one hand it is a great compliment that your book is deemed worthy of making a movie on, but on the other hand the screenplay may turn out to be totally different from what is their in book.

9 Responses to “Were those movies really that good?”


  1. 1 nipun February 14, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    dude try reading Fightclub, the move’s shot exactly the way it was written – same snatches and abrupt chnages of scenes.
    But i def. did enjoy the movie more, u hv a point there :)

  2. 2 Vivek February 15, 2007 at 10:58 am

    The LOTR movies, you will be surprised to know that the legendary war of kingdom of Rohan and Gondor (The higlight of movie 2 and 3) only covered a 20 page chapter in that (>)1k page epic.
    Do u know that the story continues after the ring is destroyed.
    Well given the time constraints, some compromises are very well justified.
    And for the proof, you can always watch Da Vinci Code over and over again and figure out the holes :)

  3. 3 obelix February 15, 2007 at 11:45 am

    LOTR is rather well made …

    Frodos journey is described too well in that.

    The battles are filmed much better in the movie.

  4. 4 Karan February 15, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Nice post.. u were especially right abt Jurassic Park and Potter.
    LOTR the book is yuck! The movie’s quite brilliant

  5. 5 aniket February 15, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    You have a point with godfather. Vaise i’d like to add here that first one should read a book, and then see the movie. I saw ‘Godfather’ movie first, and then read the book. A book is enjoyed best when you imagine the scenes in your mind. What all I could imagine while reading the book was what I’d seen in the movie. So, I missed a part of the fun involved in reading the book.

  6. 6 Rakesh February 16, 2007 at 11:31 am

    Happens to me everytime I watch a Harry Potter movie, after every scene I realize that they skipped something or other…
    but the biggest disappointment was FountainHead… whoever has read the book will agree with me that the movie was no where closer to the book …

  7. 7 Kunal February 16, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    nipun, will try out fightclub.. and dude continue the blogging, it is always a pleasure to find some good blogs :)

    vivek, never knew that the story is continued after the ring is destroyed… I thought that is the end. and you are so right about Da-Vinci Code.

    obelix, I think I need to read the book :)

    karan, three comments, three differing views on LotR. One says book is better, one says both are good, and now you say book is yuck… I do not know what to conclude… simply means I need to read LotR .. but 1000 pages! :o

    aniket, very true… whenever I am reading any book, I keep visualizing the scenes in my head.. reading the book after watching the movie is not that much fun!

    rakesh, have not read fountainhead, although I saw the movie and liked it…

  8. 8 nipun February 16, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    tell u what … my view – LOTR sucks as a book ( there are goddamn pages long songs in it!
    well u wud’nt loose anything by not reading it.
    On the otherhand, Raka’s right – fountainhead’s an amazing book ! nthing the movie does – comes even close to it.


  1. 1 Arbitrary Thoughts « Something about Nothing Trackback on October 3, 2010 at 2:18 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 359,676 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

